Digital Citizenship

digital footprint

Digital Citizenship

In class we used a cite called “Nearpod” which I really enjoyed! Our teacher set it so that each time she switched slides, all the student’s computer screens would also switch, which is great for students keeping on track and paying attention! This was very easy to log onto and enter in the class code, which is great because if a student is sick at home they can easily follow along with the class! One negative about this site is that it is quite expensive, therefore if the school/school division I was working for did not have this, I would likely use the site spiral instead (which is similar and has a free version).

This week in #edts325 we learned about digital citizenship, which includes nine sections: etiquette, literacy, access, security, health & wellness, commerce, communication, rights & responsibilities and law. Not only did I not realize this topic was so complex, I realized that with the technological sphere continually growing, so should the awareness of how to properly understand how to be digitally aware. Our class picked groups and then were racing against each other to find out answers for our “digital race”, not only should have we clearly read through each question carefully, we should have examined the websites much deeper. We did this race through the cite “Sprial”. For this race we determined that H20 was deadly to humans and had many serious health risks associated with it and that the city of Mankato has a false page in which the city is inaccurately represented and has very weird links at the bottom of the page. From spelling mistakes on web pages, early 2000’s looking web pages and contradicting with our common sense, our class of COLLEGE students was mostly fooled by these web pages to writing down this false information.  Not only were we all driven by winning the race, we failed to use our “digital citizenship” eyes while finding information. The internet is full of false information, which can easily fool us with the rapidly growing knowledge on how to manipulate images, websites etc.

This race raised many concerns and questions as a future teacher, such as…

How can students learn to trust the information they are finding? When in a time crunch, what are main details students should pay attention to in order to find accurate information?

I feel that this race is definitely something I will use in my future classes every year, even to show colleagues about it as well! It is very easy to find the wrong information, but students must be taught that it is also easy to find the right information! It does not take long to look at a website, thoroughly read and think about the information provided and check for creditability. The common phrase, “think before you speak” goes hand in hand with using the internet, “think before you use” and “think while you read”. If students are taught that the internet is full of great information and how to properly find this information, they will be less intimidated when it comes to research and more likely to present accurate information. Instead of teaching students a lesson or two about digital citizenship, I would do a brief over view of it at the beginning of the year, then I would incorporate on of the nine sections of digital citizenship into all of my classes in order for them to see the benefits and understand it with an open, engaged mind.

My Digital Footprint

I love using technology whether it is an I-pad, camera, phone, computer or smart board! I am on all sorts of social media such as: instagram, facebook, twitter, vsco, snapchat, pinterest, wordpress and weebly. At my age for becoming a teacher, students, teachers, super intendants and peers would find it weird if I was not on any social media. In this day in age, you can find anyone somehow, whether it is through the newspaper, social media or a picture their friend posted of them, you can find it! It is very important to create the proper impression of yourself, basically avoiding any racy and inappropriate pictures, forceful opinions and rude comments or opinions. All of these factors I have indeed avoided doing.

My social media accounts are mainly filled with pictures with friends and family, scenery pictures I have taken, cute/funny videos and memes and funny moments. I would be comfortable to show a future employer my social media pages because I simply have nothing bad to hide! My favorite app is instagram, mainly because I love sharing fun, special and beautiful moments with friends and family. I do have all my accounts set as private, however it is so easy to find out information through a friend’s mother’s sister’s daughter (for example) these days, therefore I will continue to post as I always have. The social media I am on shows that I keep up with the changing technology, I keep up with current news and trends and love to share special moments with those around me. I feel that this will help me interact and understand my students to a fuller extent! All my social media is under my first and middle name, except for my Facebook. At first I did this simply because I thought it was “cool” but now I continue to do so for future privacy as a teacher!

For creating a layer “on top” of my digital footprint, I will continue to use my educational twitter, pinterest, blog (and likely more sites) to appeal to future bosses and coworkers, as well as have a social media presence my future students and their parents can follow and interact with! This way I can keep my personal sites ‘private’ and have other areas students can see me active on.

I googled “Chloe Herman” and went through 5 pages of google and found no trace of me, then I went through images and found my personal twitter profile picture which is one of my grad pictures. I am comfortable with that picture being out there, but expected to find more of myself on google! I was thinking I would find my #edts325 avatar as well as some of my educational pinterest or twitter accounts pop up.

In the future I would love to show the Super Intendant my educational social media sites because of the time, thought and effort I put into them! On Pinterest I have made many board of ideas I hope to use when I become a teacher, regardless of the age group. On twitter I love to interact with my peers, share great ideas and quotes, and follow other people in the educational world and keep up to date with their improvements and solutions! On WordPress I will continue to share thoughts and ideas in the education realm. I embrace technology, therefore I am not afraid of the factors that come along with it, such as that everything I post can and likely will be found.

 

 

Leave a Reply

